Archive for April 17th, 2011

Why sleepwalk when you can sleep-drive?


Sleep driving, not to be confused with drowsy driving, has been recently added to the lexicon of sleep medicine and phenomena of sleepwalking. This terminology was not established by experts in the sleep field but by the New York Times in an article, March 8, 2006, A New Sleeping Sickness is Haunting Highways. According to this Times article, an ongoing survey by a committee from the Forensic Science Group and the Society of Forensic Toxicologists found that among labs that conduct tests of drivers blood samples for two dozen states, ten of these labs listed Ambien among the top ten drugs found in impaired drivers.

Ambien is not the only sleeping pill that may lead to bizarre behavior. According to the ad for Lunesta, “After taking Lunesta, you may get up out of bed while not being fully awake and do an activity that you do not know you are doing. The next morning, you may not remember that you did anything during the night…Reported activities include: driving a car (‘sleep-driving’), making and eating food, talking on the phone, having sex, sleep-walking.”

Now, I can go on and on with this crap, but you dont read Otod to fall asleep when you’re driving. (cause what other time to people read otod?) So here’s the tip: There are alot of natural and herbal ways to get to sleep. Speak with a doctor about alternative methods to prescription drugs. I’m an insomniac myself. But being the sleeptard that I am, Ambien had an adverse reaction with me where 2 hours after I took it I was jogging around the block, doing situps and pushups. This is after I hadn’t been to the gym in a month. I had so much energy, I didnt know what to do with it. (It also made me a temporary genius, in which time I cured cancer. But the drug companies wanted to pay me for my silence, so they offered me 26.7 million dollars and one Japanese Sex Doll…. But being that the Genius in me was only temporary, I ended up settling on this blog….. I’ll get you for this, Toyota San!)

For serious though. Check out OTC herbals such as Melatonin or Red Wine……

Sayonara and Karate Chop Sticks,

– Asian Nate