Archive for October 4th, 2011

Save your Watch Battery


Do you have many watches?  Say…. more than 1? I myself have 8 watches.  2 of which have that kinetic thingamajig that powers the watch by my movement, so it never needs a battery change.  But the other 6?  I have 1 watch I wear daily, and the others vary from going out, to seasonal, to tuxedo, leather ass-less chaps, etc.

If I leave the watches running when not in use, the batteries need to be replaced annually, if not sooner. Therefore, when I take off my dress and seasonal watches, I pull the pin so the watch stops running, thus saving the battery.  So that means I need to set the watch everytime I wear it. Well you know what? That’s a small chore compared to finding a watch store or a battery for replacing.  I hate when I put on a watch moments before I’m eready to leave and it’s just dead.  While some vintage watches will still run even when the crown is pulled out, most of my watches (maximum $400.00) dont have that issue.

Yes, batteries are cheap. It’s not the cost that bothers me, it’s the lack of a working timepiece when needed. Some people say that pulling the pin exposes the movement to dust and moisture & can cause your movement to malfunction.  Well, I store my watches in a watch case that holds ten watches that I bought from sears for 20 bucks. Click here for 1 that holds 18 watches.

So? Pull out the crown when you take it off. Easy. Simple. Otod.

________________________________________________

And now, for your Spanish Otod Word of the Day…. “SpOtod

{ watch = reloj }

Use it in a sentence: Abso~EverDanceWithTheDevilInThePaleMoonLight~lutely…….

I long for the days of a Pocket Watch

Añoro los días de un reloj de bolsillo